Texas IndyCar Predictions and Prognostications: Typical Texas


Photo from autosport.com

IndyCar oval track racing – the highest, fastest and most breathtaking form of motorsport – returns to that shrine of speed Texas Motor Speedway for a twenty ninth time Saturday night. Some have been looking forward to this since the end of last August, when a twice rain delayed race started in June concluded with another record close finish in which Graham Rahal edged James Hinchcliffe by a nose.


Photo from sports.usatoday.com

Our special prediction for the Rainguard 600 will make race fans very happy, indeed. Despite concerns about the reconfiguration of turns 1 and 2 since last visit, there will be plenty of three wide, 220 mile per hour plus, edge of your seat racing. In other words, it’ll be typical Texas.

Pole winner was Carlos “OK” Munoz for AA last year and Will Power for Penske the two years prior. Neither of them won from P1, though both are worth keeping an eye on. The last winner from pole at Texas was Ryan Briscoe in 2010, so like most ovals starting position isn’t crucial. In that spirit we’ll go with the Cap’n’s curmudgeonly Power for yet another pole, making it three already for the season.


Photo from sports.usatoday.com

Since Jack Hawksworth’s no longer in the series, first out will be Dale Coyne’s latest seat filler for the weekend, Frenchman Tristan Vautier. Unlike his counterpart countrymen in IndyCar, Vautier routinely raises the wreck total – just ask Graham Rahal. We feel for his pit crewmen and hope they’re current on their insurance. 

The biggest surprise of the race is that Pat’s back! Of course we mean that Gabby Chaves will be competing for the first time since Indy. The brand new Harding Racing – led by Dennis Reinbold of the old DRR and Mike Harding – finished an eye catching ninth at Indy in their inaugural effort with Gabby. Plus, he’s a former ROY – both for the season and the 500 – from 2015. It’s great to see them adding to the show in Texas, as it seems Pat’s always surprising someone.


Winners have started thirteenth, seventh, fifth, sixth and seventeenth the last five years, with Justin Wilson advancing the farthest of them all in winning his last race in 2012. Honda – already on a hot streak this season – has triumphed in nine of the last twelve races, though Chevy’s won three of the last four at TMS.

As for who’ll be firing the six shooters in victory lane, we’re predicting another two time winner on the season. Josef Newgarden built some momentum Sunday and this southern boy already has one win in Dixie. Saturday night he’ll earn a second and at the same time revive Chevy’s flagging hopes.


Photo from indycar.com

Special Bonus Winner: The fans, who get to enjoy primo oval racing instead of a double dose of the doldrums as in Detroit.

See also “A Note To Texas Detractors


2 thoughts on “Texas IndyCar Predictions and Prognostications: Typical Texas

  1. Pingback: Silly Season ’17: A Succinct Synopsis | Indy Race Reviewer: Fast And Funniness

  2. Pingback: Road America IndyCar Preview: This Replaced Milwaukee Why?! | Indy Race Reviewer: Fast And Funniness

Leave a Reply - it's free and easy

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s